Formerly known as the Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel, the Trinbago Knight Riders is one of the original franchise teams created during the inaugural season of the CPL. In 2015, the Knight Riders won the tournament for the first time, defeating the Barbados Tridents (178–158) at Queen’s Park Oval. In the same year, Shah Rukh Khan’s Red Chillies Entertainment in association with the Mehta Group (owned by Bollywood actress Juhi Chawla and businessman Jay Mehta) purchased a significant stake in the Trinbago Knight Riders. Dwayne Bravo captained the ‘Knight Riders’ team for 6 seasons, however, ‘Kieron Pollard’ is appointed as the new captain of the team. With its stellar performance and victories in the three consecutive seasons (in 2015, 2017, and 2018), the Knight Riders have been consistent in maintaining a dominant position on the point table in each CPL edition. 

The tropical climate, a crisp T20 like format, and raw talent – all these elements seem to perfectly fit in the new definition of Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2020. From its humble beginnings in 2013, the CPL tournament has managed to deliver great value to the cricket aficionados and made its presence felt all around the world. As the upcoming CPL season is approaching, the Trinbago Knight Riders is all set to bowl off the opponent teams with their stellar performance and new gaming strategy. 



Showing the utmost trust in their senior players, the team Knight Riders has retained its experienced players while getting a few cricket debutants on board. As the official draft is carried out remotely, the Trinbago Knight Riders team CPL 2020 has successfully filled out its rosters with both the Caribbean and overseas players. On that note, here’s the recently updated list of the Trinbago Knight Riders players: 

  • Retained: Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Amir Jangoo, Tion Webster, Akeal Hosein, Colin Munro (Overseas), and M Ali Khan (ICC America’s choice).
  • Signed: Fawad Ahmed (Overseas), Tim Seifert, (Overseas), and Jayden Seales.
  • Drafted: Sikandar Raza (Overseas), Pravin Tambe (Overseas), and Anderson Phillip.


Apart from bringing back the Australian leg-spinner ‘Fawad Ahmed’ on board, the Knight Riders team has also signed an Indian player – Pravin Tambe for the first time in the CPL history. While retaining the core local players, the team has endorsed the Kiwi wicketkeeper Tim Seifert, and Zimbabwean batsman Sikandar Raza. With a penchant to clear the boundary with ease and hit the boundaries in the death overs, the aggressive batsman – Kieron Pollard can change the momentum of the match. 


Under the captaincy of Bravo and Kieron, the Trinbago Knight Riders have earlier demonstrated a commendable performance and spectacular records. With a digital viewership of 312 million during the 2019 season, the upcoming edition of CPL is expecting surmountable patronage and fan-following of more than 500 million. From the very first season, the team has appeared in the playoffs of all seasons while illustrating its potential to win the championship.

Latest updates on CPL T20 2020

CPL T20 Final match: Trinbago Knight Riders Vs St Lucia Zouks...

CPL T20 Final match, Cricdaddy Match Updates: The tournament has finally reached its end and the two most deserving sides will contest each other in...