Top 5 Wicket-takers in the history of CPL


The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is set to be held on August 18 in Triniad & Tobago. The tournament becomes the first major T20 league to resume post the corona pandemic outbreak.

As we gear up for three weeks of great cricketing action, let us have a quick glance at the top 5 wicket takers in the history of CPL.

  1. Dwayne Bravo(97 wickets)

Dwayne Bravo spot at the number 1 in the list with the highest wicket taker who has picked up97 wickets in just 69 matches while bowling at an ecinomy rate of 8.72. Over the past 7 seasons, Bravo has only represented the franchise of his local team, Triniad & Tobago Whether it is as Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel or the Trinbago Knight Riders.

The bowler played an instrumental part in the previous seasons and won the 3 times campaigns for the franchise. In the year 2015, he had picked 28 wickets and won their first title.

Along with his bowling credentials, Bravo has lead the team under his captaincy and won 3 titles. But in 2020 he stepped down and will be the vice captain to his teammate Kieron Pollard. Bravo missed previous season of CPL(2019) due to injury.

  1. Krishmar Santokie (85 wickets)

Krishmar Santokie has the second most wicket taker in the list of CPL with 85 scalps in 58 gameswith the economy rate of 7.59 and an average of just under 20 in his glorious CPL career.

Santokie has played for several franchise in the CPL history but wont be a part of 8edition in Triniad and Tobago as he found no takers in the draft.CPL 2014 was the year of Santokie. He has pickedup 17 wickets in 11 matches for his team. In 2019, he played only 3 matches while picking up 5 wickets for St Lucia Zouks.

3.Rayad Emrit (85 wickets)

Rayad Emrit ranks 3 in the list of highest weeket taker. Though he is the most underrated players in the West Indies T20 squad,and his bowling record in the CPL is testament to that with 85 wickets to his name in 75 matches.

Speedster Emrit was a part of the Barbados Tridents side, which won the title in 2014, and the medium-pacer picked up 12 wickets in that edition of the CPL. His best performance came in the 2016 tournament when he picked up 16 wickets while playing for the Guyana Amazon Warriors and the side became the runner up that year.

4.Sunil Narine (72 wickets)

On the 4bspot in the list is mystery spinner Sunil Narine, who plays for Trinbago Knight Riders. The Windies spinner has bowled at an economy rate of 5.52 which is the best in the 6-team event’s history of Caribbean premier league.

Narine best performance seasons in the CPL were in 2015 & 2016 when he picked 16 wickets each.

He has won 2 consecutive titles with Trinbago Knight Riders in 2016 and 2017.

  1. Sheldon Cottrell (69 wickets)

It comes as no surprise that left-arm pacer Sheldon Cottrell is the 5th highest wicket-taker in CPL history. With 69 wickets in 50 matches so far, the pacer has been impressive innings in the T20 league. His economy rate of 7.37 is impressive while also averaging 19.33.

In the previous seaon of CPL, Cottrell picked 12 wickets conceding 7.83 runs per over and was among the Top 10 wicket-takers in the seaon.

Stay tuned to for latest cricket match updates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here