West Indies national cricket team & players has a huge fan following and holds a special place in the hearts of their fan by their unique way of playing game.  West Indies cricket team is one such team that claimed the inaugural world cup in 1975 and also became the first team to won the title of World cup winner back –to- back in the years 1979 too.

Year Joined: 1926

As per the official ICC rankings the Indies team cricket team is ranked eighth in the world in Tests, ninth in One-Day Internationals (ODIs) & in Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is).From 1970s to 1990s the team considered as the strongest cricket team in the world of Cricket in both Test and ODIs.

Cricketers like Sir Garfield Sobers, Lance Gibbs, Brian Lara, Chris Gayle, Clive Lloyd, Sir Everton Weekes, and SirViv Richards who were considered among the best in the world have hailed from the West Indies.

Brian Lara holds the national record for most runs in Tests and ODIs. Lara’s tally of 10,348 runs makes him the only WI player to have over 10,000 runs in the format while his Test tally of 11,953 runs is the seventh-best of any batsman in the history of the game.

Although the performance of WI cricket has waned over the years, they are still among a handful of teams to have won the World Cup twice (1975&1979) ,World T20 (2012  & 2016), Champions trophy in the year 2004, and ICC under 19 Cricket World cup in the year 2016.

The team, West Indies also became the first to win both the men’s and women’s World Twenty20 on the same day. As an added bonus, the West indies national cricket women’s team beat three-time defending champion Australia for their first ICC world title immediately beforehand.


The West Indies team has a huge fan base around the world. Their current test captain is Jason Holder and Kieron Pollard isnamed as the ODI and T20 captain.


Alzarri Joseph Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 24
Raymon Reifer All-rounder 29
Kraigg Brathwaite Opening Batsman Right Handed 28
Kemar Roach Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 32
Chemar Holder Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 22
John Campbell Batsman 27
Jason Holder All-rounder Right Handed 29
Jermaine Blackwood Batsman Right Handed 29
Rahkeem Cornwall Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 27
Shai Hope Batsman Right Handed 27
Nkrumah Bonner All-rounder Right Handed 31
Shane Dowrich Wicket Keeper Right Handed 29
Sharmarh Brooks Batsman Right Handed 32
Roston Chase Middle Order Batsman Right Handed 28



Follow cricdaddy.com for all the latest West Indies cricket news and updates.