The Sri Lanka national cricket team also known as The Lions represents men’s international cricket worldwide. The team is a full member of the International cricket council, ICC in test, ODI, & T20 cricket.

Year Joined: 1981

In the year 1981, the Sri Lanka awarded the test status and became the eight test cricket playing nation. The national cricket team achieved significant success in the beginning of 1990s, and got the status of 1996 world cup winner from the Underdog.

ArjunRanathunga, became the most successful captain of the team. Under his captaincy Sri Lanka won the ICC cricket world cup in 1996, ICC champions’ trophy in the year 2002, & ICC T20 World cup, 2014.

The team has been the runners up of Cricket world cup in the year 2007 & 2011 consecutively and also reached the finals of ICC T20 world cup in 2009 & 2012.

The Sri Lanka national cricket team currently holds number of world records including highest team total in Test cricket.


The Sri Lanka team has a huge fan based around the world. Their current ODI and the T20 captain is Dimuth Karunaratne.


Lasith Malinga Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 37
Isuru Udana All-rounder Right Handed 32
Nuwan Pradeep Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 34
Dhananjaya de Silva All-rounder Right Handed 29
Kasun Rajitha Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 27
Dasun Shanaka All-rounder Right Handed 29
Jeevan Mendis All-rounder 37
Lakshan Sandakan Bowler Left Arm Unorthodox 29
Oshada Fernando Batsman Right Handed 28
Niroshan Dickwella Wicket Keeper 27
Vishwa Fernando Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 29
Thisara Perera All-rounder 31
Suranga Lakmal Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 33
Lasith Embuldeniya Bowler Left Arm Orthodox 24
Dimuth Karunaratne Opening Batsman 32
Angelo Mathews All-rounder Right Handed 33
Lahiru Kumara Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 23
Kusal Perera Wicket Keeper 30
Avishka Fernando Batsman Right Handed 22
Wanindu Hasaranga All-rounder Right Handed 23
Dinesh Chandimal Wicket Keeper Right Handed 31
Dilruwan Perera All-rounder Right Handed 38
Kusal Mendis Batsman Right Handed 25
Shehan Jayasuriya All-rounder 29


Sri Lanka cricket team & players include champions like Aravinda de Silva, Mahela Jayawardene, Chaminda Vaas, & Kumar Sangakkara who have contributed to the success of the team, but the role played by Muttiah Muralitharan who is the finest off-spinner in history, and a person whose tally of wickets will possibly never be overtaken in the history has been next to achieved by none.

Trophies and Awards

The Sri Lanka Cricket team has won three ICC Trophies so far — the 1996 ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy, the 2002 Champions Trophy and the 2014 World T20.