The South Africa national cricket team also known as Proteas is a men’s cricket team representing South Africa in various international formats like ICC test, ODI, & T20 cricket.

Official Website:
Year Joined: 1991

In the year 1889, South Africa became the third test-playing nation. The match was against England at Port Elizabeth, captained by Own Robert Dunell. In 1906 South Africa formed the Imperial Cricket conference.

In the early 1900s, the first world-class South African cricket team emerged, comprising stars who were capable of giving any international teams a run for their money such as  Bonnor Middleton, Jimmy Sinclair, Charlie Llewellyn, Dave Nourse,  etc.

With the addition of players like AB de Villiers and HashimAmla, the South Africa Cricket team and players stats started rising in the ICC rankings. Many of the time South Africa ranked no.1 team in the world. As of 20 May 2020 latest ranking South Africa are ranked 6th in test cricket.


The South Africa team has a huge fan based around the world. Their current ODI and the T20 captain is Quinton de Kock.


Tabraiz Shamsi Bowler Left Arm Unorthodox 30
Imran Tahir Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 41
Lutho Sipamla Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 22
Janneman Malan All-rounder Right Handed 24
Jean-Paul Duminy Middle Order Batsman 36
Andile Phehlukwayo Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 24
Heinrich Klaasen Wicket Keeper Right Handed 29
Daryn Dupavillion Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 26
Faf du Plessis Batsman Right Handed 36
JJ Smuts All-rounder Right Handed 32
Chris Morris All-rounder Right Handed 33
Anrich Nortje Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 27
Kagiso Rabada Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 25
George Linde Bowler Left Arm Orthodox 29
David Miller Middle Order Batsman 31
Kyle Verreynne Wicket Keeper Right Handed 23
Rassie van der Dussen Batsman Right Handed 31
Aiden Markram All-rounder Right Handed 26
Lungisani Ngidi Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 24
Dwaine Pretorius All-rounder Right Handed 31
Beuran Hendricks Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 30
Quinton de Kock Wicket Keeper 28
Keshav Maharaj Bowler Left Arm Orthodox 30
Temba Bavuma Batsman Right Handed 30
Hashim Amla Batsman Right Handed 37



South Africa cricket team topped Group B in the 2011 World Cup, with the distinction of bowling out every side they played within the 50 over limit, which also included a famous victory over hosts India. South Africa also hold the record of the highest successful run chase and made the highest total in One-Day Internationals (438–9 in 49.5 overs), in an iconic match played against Australia on 12 March 2006. The match is still considered by many to be the greatest One-Day International ever played.

In the same year the South Africa national cricket team beat Netherlands by 231 runs in Mohali in Group matches. This 231 runchaes win is the fourth largest margin of victory for any team in World Cups and the largest for South Africa in World Cups. This is the second largest margin of victory for South Africa in ODIs on 3 March 2011.

Trophies and Awards

The South Africa Cricket team has won only one ICC Trophy so far — the 1998 Champions Trophy which was held in Bangladesh. The inability of the team to perform well in the ICC tournaments has given it an unwanted tag of “Chokers”.