The New Zealand national cricket team is the men’s cricket team that represents New Zealand in various ICC’s international cricket events and tournaments such as ICC World Cup, ICC T20 World Cup, ICC Champions Trophy and more. The team has been nick-named Black Caps.

Year Joined: 1894

Matt Henry Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 29
Ross Taylor Batsman Right Handed 36
Tom Latham Batsman 28
Colin de Grandhomme All-rounder Right Handed 34
Tom Blundell Wicket Keeper Right Handed 30
Martin Guptill Batsman Right Handed 34
Kyle Jamieson Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 26
Kane Williamson Batsman Right Handed 30
Tim Southee Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 32
Henry Nicholls Batsman 29
James Neesham All-rounder 30
Mitchell Santner All-rounder 28
Lockie Ferguson Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 29
Ish Sodhi Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 28
Trent Boult Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 31


TEST, ODIs, T20s

The team played its first test match in 1930. It was against England in Christchurch, which England won by 8 wickets. New Zealand got its first test victory against West Indies at Eden Park in Auckland in 1956, 26 years after their first test match. So far, New Zealand has played 442 test matches. Out of which they have won 101 and lost 175. As of June 2020, the team was ranked 2nd in ICC test ranking.

The team also played its first ODI in 1972–73 season against Pakistan in Christchurch. To date, they have played 772 ODIs. Out of them, they have won 351 matches and have lost 374 matches. As of June 2020, the New Zealand team ODI ranking was 2nd.

The New Zealand Cricket Team played its first international T20 match in 2005, against Australia in Christchurch. To date, they have played 121 T20 matches and have won 61 and lost 59 out of them. Their ICC T20 rank is 6.


In the first two editions of the ICC Cricket World Cup, New Zealand reached semi-finals in 1975 and 1979. They lost both the semi-finals against England. They went through a similar situation in 1992, 1999, 2007 and 2011. But in 2015 and 2019, they reached the finals, but could not win the title. In the ICC World Cup, New Zealand has played 89 matches and won 54 out of them.


Under the able captaincy of Kane Williamson, New Zealand reached the finals of the 2019 ICC World Cup, where they lost the match to England. It was quite unfortunate. The 2019 World Cup final is considered one of the most enthralling cricket encounters in the history of ICC World Cups. Both the teams were competing neck to neck. When the match score tied at 241, the match moved to Super Over, but with the same result. In the end, the winner was decided based on which team hit the most number of boundaries in the match and Super Over. And England won the title.


New Zealand has participated in all the T20 World Cups. While they did reach the semi-finals in 2007 and 2016, they didn’t reach the finals. They have played 30 matches in the T20 world cup and have won 15 out of them.

Trophies and Awards

Year Trophy/Award
2000 ICC Champions Trophy

*Last updated in Oct 2019