The England national cricket team is one of the oldest cricket teams in the world. Cricket is the national game of England and is quite popular. The team represents England and Wales in international cricket tournaments together with test, one-day, and T20 series against other cricket-playing nations or any international tournaments organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) such as ICC World Cup, Champions Trophy, T20 World Cup, World Test Championship, and more.

    Official Website:
    Year Joined: 1905

    England had hosted the first-ever test match in 1877, and they played their first-ever ODI in 1971. Both the matches were played against the Australian cricket team. Lord’s cricket ground in London is one of the most revered cricket grounds in the world, and it is also known as The Home of Cricket’. To date, the England cricket team has taken part in all the ICC events.

    England and Wales Cricket Board

    The English cricket and England Cricket Team & Players are governed by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) since January 1997 and the board represents England cricket on the ICC panel. The ECB looks after the ticket sale, sponsorship, broadcasting rights, etc. in regards to the England team. Before 1997, the TCCB (Test and County Cricket Board) (TCCB) was governing the English team.

    ICC Cricket World Cup

    The first three ICC one-day world cup tournaments were organized in England, and after that, they also hosted 1999 and 2019 world cup tournaments. The England team has won one world cup in 2019, and they finished as runner-ups in 1987 and 1992.

    Cricket World Cup 2019: England is the new king of cricket through ...

    ICC World Cup 2019

    The England cricket team won its first-ever 50-over ICC World Cup in 2019. The final was played between New Zealand and England at Lord’s in London. The final match ended in a tie where both the teams had scored 241 runs, followed by a Super Over. In the end, England was declared the winner based on which team had more number of boundaries. This final is considered one of the most exciting World cup finals.

    ICC T20 World Cup 2010

    the 2010 T20 World cup was the third edition of the tournament. It was won by England who had beaten Australia in the finals. Kevin Peterson was awarded the player of the tournament. England won by seven wickets under the captaincy of Paul Collingwood.

    Rewind: England win 2010 World T20

    Current team

    The current England team is being led by Joe Root as test captain, and Eoin Morgan as One-day and T20 captain.


    Alastair Cook Opening Batsman 36
    Ian Bell Batsman Right Handed 38
    Jack Leach Bowler Left Arm Orthodox 29
    Mark Wood Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 30
    Chris Woakes All-rounder Right Handed 31
    Dominic Sibley Batsman Right Handed 25
    Monty Panesar Bowler Left Arm Orthodox 38
    Andrew Flintoff All-rounder Right Handed 43
    Sam Curran All-rounder 22
    Zak Crawley All-rounder Right Handed 22
    Ollie Pope Wicket Keeper Right Handed 22
    Ravi Bopara All-rounder Right Handed 35
    Adil Rashid All-rounder Right Handed 32
    Jonny Bairstow Batsman Right Handed 31
    Stuart Broad Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 34
    Paul Collingwood All-rounder Right Handed 44
    Jofra Archer Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 25
    Moeen Ali All-rounder 33
    Ben Stokes All-rounder 29
    Kevin Pietersen Batsman Right Handed 40
    James Vince Batsman Right Handed 29
    Saqib Mahmood Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 23
    Liam Plunkett Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 35
    Joe Denly Batsman Right Handed 34
    Steven Finn Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 31
    Ben Foakes Wicket Keeper Right Handed 27
    Joe Root Batsman Right Handed 30
    Keaton Jennings Batsman 28
    James Anderson Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 38
    Andrew Strauss Opening Batsman 43
    Matt Prior Wicket Keeper Right Handed 38
    Jonathan Trott Batsman Right Handed 39
    Graeme Swann Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 41
    Matthew Parkinson Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 24
    Jos Buttler Wicket Keeper Right Handed 30
    Dom Bess Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 23
    Jason Roy Batsman Right Handed 30
    Eoin Morgan Middle Order Batsman 34