The Bangladesh national cricket team, popularly known as Tigers, is a men’s team that represents Bangladesh in various ICC international cricket events. The Bangladesh Cricket Team & Players are governed by Bangladesh Cricket Board, a full-time member of the International Cricket Council (ICC). The team plays all the forms of cricket, including Tests, ODIs, and T20 matches.

Official Website:
Year Joined: 2000

In November 2000, the Bangladesh cricket team played its first test match against India in Dhaka. However, Bangladesh first entered the international cricket arena in the 1979 ICC Trophy in England. The team played its first ODI match against Pakistan in the 1986 Asia Cup.

In 1997, Bangladesh won the ICC Trophy and qualified to play in the World Cup 1999. In the world cup, Bangladesh beat Pakistan and Scotland. IN June 2006, Bangladesh became a full-time member of ICC.

Bangladesh’s foray in international cricket hasn’t been quite prospering. The team had lost the most number of consecutive test matches, i.e., 21, between 2000 and 2002. They also lost 2 ODIs between 2001 and 2004. By June 2020, Bangladesh’s ICC test ranking was 9.


Currently, Mominul Haque is the test captain, Tamim Iqbal is the one-day captain, and Mahmudullah is T20 captain.


Mahmudullah All-rounder Right Handed 34
Nasum Ahmed All-rounder 26
Shafiul Islam Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 31
Mosaddek Hossain Middle Order Batsman Right Handed 25
Mehedi Hasan All-rounder Right Handed 23
Mohammad Naim Batsman 21
Mustafizur Rahman Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 25
Mahedi Hasan All-rounder Right Handed 26
Liton Das Wicket Keeper Right Handed 26
Tamim Iqbal Batsman 31
Afif Hossain All-rounder 21
Khaled Mashud Wicket Keeper Right Handed 44
Mohammad Mithun Wicket Keeper Right Handed 29
Mashrafe Mortaza Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 37
Aminul Islam Middle Order Batsman Right Handed 21
Mushfiqur Rahim Wicket Keeper Right Handed 33
Mohammad Saifuddin All-rounder 24
Hasan Mahmud Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 21
Shakib Al Hasan All-rounder 33
Golam Faruq All-rounder Right Handed 58
Al-Amin Hossain Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 30
Soumya Sarkar All-rounder 27



Until June 2019, Bangladesh has won 13 out of 114 tests they have played since their first match. The team won its first match against Zimbabwe. In 2017, Bangladesh played its 100th test against Sri Lanka and in Sri Lanka in March 2017.


The team has shown better results in ODIs. They have managed to win 124 out of 367 matches that they have played since their first ODI. They have also played 85 T20 international matches, out of which they have won 26. By June 2020, Bangladesh team ODI ranking was 7th, and in T20, it was 9th.


The Bangladesh national cricket team has participated in 6 ICC World Cup tournaments, from 1999 to 2019. Out of 40 matches that they have played in World Cup tournaments, they have won only 14 matches and have never been to semi-finals. Their best performance in the World cup to date is when they reached the Quarterfinals in the 2015 ICC World Cup.


The Bangladesh Cricket team has played all the ICC T20 World Cup tournaments. The team has played 25 matches in the world cup and has only 5 out of them. They have only reached the second stage of the tournament in 2007, 2014, and the 2016 T20 World Cup.

Trophies and Awards

The Bangladesh Cricket team has won only one ICC Trophy so far — the 1997 ICC Trophy (World Cup Qualifier). Other than that, Bangladesh has played the finals of the 2016 Asia Cup, which remains its best performance in any multilateral tournament so far.