The Australia national cricket team is a men’s cricket team representing Australia in various international ICC test, one-day, and T20 cricket tournaments. It is one of the oldest and most successful teams in the history of Test and one-day cricket.

Official Website:
Year Joined: 1905

The team played its first test match in 1877 against England. Their first one-day was against England in 1970-71, and the first T20 was against New Zealand in 2004-05. Australia came up as a winner in both the matches. Australia has always been known for a strong team. The team chooses its players from the teams that play domestic tournaments such as the Big Bash League. The Australian team has also played the first-ever day/night test match in 2015. They have been participating in almost all the ICC tournaments over the years and delivering top performance.

The Australia national cricket team has so far played 830 test matches. Out of that they have won 393 matches and lost 224 matches. At the end of June 2020, Australia was ranked first in the ICC test ranking. Australian cricket team has had the most success in test cricket history in terms of winning percentage.

In ODIs, the Australian cricket has played 942 matches. Out of which they have won 573 matches and lost 326 matches. At the end of June 2020, the Australia team ODI ranking is fifth. Though they have stayed on the top spot for a long time since 2002, 141 out of 185 months to be exact. Australia has won more than 60% of the total matches they have played to date. On 12 January 2019, Australia beat India at the Sydney Cricket Ground by 34 runs. It was their 1,000th win playing international cricket.


The Australian team has a huge fan following around the world. Their current test captain is Tim Paine and the ODI and T20 captain is Aaron Finch.


Alex Carey Wicket Keeper 29
Mitchell Marsh All-rounder Right Handed 29
Chris Rogers Opening Batsman 43
Simon Katich Opening Batsman 45
Sean Abbott All-rounder Right Handed 28
Phillip Hughes Opening Batsman 32
Mitchell Johnson Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 39
Steve Smith Batsman Right Handed 31
Ashton Agar Bowler Left Arm Orthodox 27
Pat Cummins Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 27
Ed Cowan Opening Batsman 38
Kane Richardson Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 29
Mitchell Starc Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 30
Brad Haddin Wicket Keeper Right Handed 43
Nathan Lyon Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 33
Shane Watson All-rounder Right Handed 39
Marcus Stoinis All-rounder Right Handed 31
Peter Handscomb Batsman Right Handed 29
Ben Hilfenhaus Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 37
Peter Siddle Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 36
Ricky Ponting Batsman Right Handed 46
Marcus North Middle Order Batsman 41
Adam Zampa Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 28
James Pattinson Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 30
Michael Hussey Batsman 45
Jhye Richardson Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 24
Jason Behrendorff Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 30
D’Arcy Short Middle Order Batsman 30
Josh Hazlewood Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 29
Usman Khawaja Batsman 34
Glenn Maxwell All-rounder Right Handed 32
Marnus Labuschagne Batsman Right Handed 26
Nathan Hauritz Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 39
David Warner Opening Batsman 34
Aaron Finch Opening Batsman Right Handed 34
Michael Clarke Middle Order Batsman Right Handed 39
Matthew Wade Wicket Keeper 33



Australian cricket team has never missed any edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup since 1975. They have the record of winning the world cup the most number of times including 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015. In this, they also have a hat trick of titles from 1999 to 2007. Indeed, the Australia cricket team is the first team to reach 4 successive world cup finals of 1996, 1999, 2003, and 2007. The team had also remained unbeaten in 34 consecutive world cup matches until 2011, where they were defeated by Pakistan in the Group stage match.


Australia has not won any ICC T20 World Cup title. They came very close to the title in 2010 when they reached the finals. But they lost the title to England. The ICC T20 World Cup 2020 will be held in Australia. Australia has played 29 matches in T20 World cup tournaments and has won 16 matches out of them.

Trophies and Awards

Year Trophy/Award
1987 ICC Cricket World Cup
1999 ICC Cricket World Cup
2002 Laureus World Sports Award for Team of the Year
2003 ICC Cricket World Cup
2006 ICC Champions Trophy
2007 ICC Cricket World Cup
2009 ICC Champions Trophy
2015 ICC Cricket World Cup

*Last updated in Sept 2019