The Afghanistan men’s national team represent Afghanistan in international cricket. Cricket has been played in Afghanistan since the mid-19th century, but it was only early in the 21st century that the national team began to enjoy success.
    Official Website:
    Year Joined: 2001
    People of Afghanistan have been playing cricket since the mid-19th century. However, it was during the early 21st century that the national team started to have some success. The Afghanistan Cricket Board was established in 1995. It got full ICC Membership on 22 June 2017 in London.

    As of July 2020, team Afghanistan ICC ranking is 10th in ODI and 10th in T20. The Afghanistan cricket team has made the highest ever T20I score of 278/3 against Ireland on 23rd February 2019 at Dehradun.

    In 2011, Afghanistan did not qualify for ICC World Cup. Nevertheless, it managed to get ODI status for the next 4 years. They have won the ICC Intercontinental Cup in 2009-10 and 2015-17. 

    Afghanistan played its first test match in2018 against India in Bengaluru. Unfortunately, the debutant team lost its first test match by an inning and 262 runs.

    Afghanistan national cricket team has several players who started their careers in international cricket by playing for Pakistan. Afghanistan team players have performed much better in shorter formats of the game as compared to test format. 

    The current captain of the Afghanistan cricket squad is Asghar Afghan. The team has played a total of 4 tests, out of which they have won 2 and lost 2. Their ODI is better where they have played 126 matches and have won 59, and lost 63. 

    Afghanistan played their first ICC World Cup match in 2015, where they played against Bangladesh and lost the match by 105 runs. The team’s highest run-getter in ODIs is Mohammad Nabi and the leading wicket-taker is Rashid Khan. 



    Qais Ahmad Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 20
    Azmatullah Omarzai Bowler Right Arm Medium Seam 20
    Rahmat Shah Batsman Right Handed 27
    Najibullah Zadran Middle Order Batsman 27
    Gulbadin Naib All-rounder Right Handed 29
    Usman Ghani Batsman Right Handed 24
    Mujeeb ur Rahman Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 19
    Hazratullah Zazai Opening Batsman 22
    Rahmanullah Gurbaz Wicket Keeper Right Handed 19
    Ihsanullah Janat Batsman Right Handed 23
    Shapoor Zadran Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 33
    Yamin Ahmadzai Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 28
    Dawlat Zadran Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 32
    Naveen-ul-Haq Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 21
    Samiullah Shenwari Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 33
    Hashmatullah Shahidi Batsman 26
    Raees Ahmadzai Middle Order Batsman Right Handed 36
    Ikram Ali Khil Wicket Keeper 20
    Mohammad Nabi All-rounder Right Handed 35
    Mohammad Shahzad Wicket Keeper Right Handed 32
    Noor Ali Zadran Batsman Right Handed 32
    Fareed Ahmad All-rounder 26
    Mohammad Salamkheil Bowler Left Arm Unorthodox 19
    Asghar Afghan Batsman Right Handed 33
    Wafadar Momand Bowler Right Arm Medium Seam 20
    Rashid Khan Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 22
    Karim Janat Bowler Right Arm Medium Seam 22