IPL 2020 Schedule Announced: CSK To Face MI In Opening Clash At Abu Dhabi


The Board of Control for Cricket in India, on Sunday has been announced the much awaited, schedule for the 13th edition of the tournament. In the opening clash of the tournament on September 19 in Abu Dhabi, Defending champions Mumbai Indians will face three time winners MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings. The afternoon matches timings are set to begin at 3:30 PM IST while the evening games will start at 7:30 PM IST. The games will start half an hour earlier in the upcoming edition, compared to the regular 8pm IST.

After the tournament opening match on Saturday, Dubai will host its first match on Sunday when Delhi Capitals take on Kings XI Punjab followed by the third match of the tournament on Monday between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore.  In total, the 24 matches will be held in Dubai, 20 in Abu Dhabi and 12 in Sharjah, while the venues for playoffs will be announced later.

The scheduled IPL 2020 56 league matches will go on until November 4, post which the top four teams on the table, will qualify for the play offs. As per the schedule, the first qualifier is set to be played on November 5, while the eliminator will be played on November 6. The second qualifier will be played on November 8 while the most awaiting finale is set for November 8.

Full schedule of IPL 2020:

IPL 2020 in UAE

The schedule was expected much earlier due to the prevailing COVID-19 pandemic situation in India and has been moved to the UAE. The league is all set to commence from September 19 while the final will be played on November 10. The Board of control for Cricket has already issued an Standard operating procedure for the tournament and has also allowed COVID-19 replacement during the tournament. Recently, Dream11 became the new title sponsor and got the sponsorship rights for the 13th edition of IPL 2020 for a whopping amount of Rs 220 crore after Vivo’s exit. The 2020 year’s edition will also feature COVID replacements that have been allowed by the governing body in view of the pandemic. The matches are set up to be played across three stadiums: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, and Sharjah. 

Follow cricdaddy.com for more latest cricket news, match updates and live cricket score.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here