ICC World T20 will be played instead of ICC Champions Trophy 2021, India will still host


The ICC has decided to replace the ICC Champions Trophy to be held in India in 2021 with the World T20 Championship. In this way, this tournament, which was held between 8 teams, will finally be ended in a way, the relevance of which has been continuously questioned. The decision was taken just after the conclusion of 2017 Champions Trophy.

After the conclusion of the 5-day meeting of the ICC Board in 2018, ICC Chief Executive Dave Richardson said that the global body has unanimously agreed that in 2021 T-20 tournaments will now be held among 16 teams in India. Richardson’s announcement implied that the then BCCI representative Amitabh Chaudhary also supported the move.

This means that the ICC World T20 competition will be held in two consecutive years. Australia is all set to host the World T20 this year. Richardson said at the press conference, ‘The Champions Trophy to be held in India in 2021 has been changed to World T20. It fits into our plan to carry the game forward.

Meanwhile in 2019 and 2023 there will be World Cups and thus the Champions Trophy was removed. Many critics were considering this tournament irrelevant, while the World Cup is organized every four year. The tournament was nothing else but a World Championship without carrying the name ‘World Cup’. Though, some people considered it to be a mini World Cup.

India has claimed the title twice, first being a joint winner with Sri Lanka in 2002 and the second time in 2013 under MS Dhoni Captaincy. The 2013 title is still remarkable as it was the first ICC tournament held after the 2011 ODI World Cup. India defended its title and came out to be an undefeated champion throughout the tournament.

The Champions Trophy 2013 was played in England and the hosts faced off with the World Champions in the finals. Harbhajan Singh dismissed the host batsmen one after another to restrict them 5 runs short. Just after the ODI World Cup, it was India’s second ICC title under MS Dhoni Captaincy. India won all games in that tournament including the practice matches as well. 

The last version of the tournament is played in 2017 in England where the arch rivals India and Pakistan played the tournament final. India, under the captaincy of Virat Kohli, marked a humiliating defeat against Pakistan as Sarfaraj lifted the cup for Pakistan with a 180 runs win. Indian batting side summed up 158 runs in 30.3 overs while chasing 338 and stood as the runner-ups.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here