How India Can Qualify for World Test Championship 2020-21?


Global cricket teams are gearing up to grab the spot in the final of the World Test Championship against New Zealand. India, England, and Australia are the prime teams which will face-off their test matches with the motive of making it to the final of the World Test Championship. New Zealand was confirmed as one of the finalists after the postponement of the South Africa-Australia test series. The second finalist will be finalized after the results of India Vs. England four test match series, which will commence from February 05, 2021.

How Can India Make it to World Test Championship Final?

India commenced their journey back in 2019 with a 2-0 victory against West Indies and continued the winning streak against South Africa and Bangladesh. However, the tour of New Zealand was one of the setbacks for the team as they lose the two test match series. However, India bounced back in the Border Gavaskar Trophy 2020-21 against Australia. Under the leadership of Ajinkya Rahane, India decimated Australia with a 2-1 victory and currently holds the top rank in the World Test Championship table 2020-21.

Since India has the highest PCT in the World Test Championship ranking, they just have to win 2 test matches against England to qualify for the final of the World Test Championship. Following should be the test results of India Vs. England test match series If Kohli and team want to qualify for the finals.

  • 2-0
  • 2-1
  • 3-0
  • 3-1
  • 4-0

If there will be any other series score lines, India will not make it to the final of the World Test Championship.

How England Can Qualify for World Test Championship Final?

Similar to India, England roster will be looking forward to qualify for the World Test Championship final. After defeating Sri Lanka, England will be planning to keep the winning streak against India. However, if England wants to enter the final, they would have need series victory against India. England will need the following series score lines to compete with New Zealand.

  • 0-4
  • 0-3
  • 1-3

Australia’s Qualification Will Depend Upon Various Permutations and Combinations

The postponement of the South Africa Tour and recent loss against India has put Australia in a sceptical position. Australia will make it to the final of the World Test Championship:

  • India wins by 1-0
  • England win by 1-2, 0-2 and 0-1
  • The series is drawn

Both India and England will be focusing on continuing the winning streak to meet New Zealand in the World Test Championship finals. Indian players will have the opportunity to create world records at Chennai against England, whereas Joe Root and team will be looking for a clean sweep.

Indian team for First Two Tests: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agrawal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, R. Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, M. Siraj, Ishant Sharma, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav and Washington Sundar.

England: Joe Root (C), Jos Buttler (WK), Dan Lawrence, Dom Sibley, Rory Joseph Burns, Zak Crawley, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Moeen Ali, Ben Stokes, Dom Bess, Jack Leach, James Anderson, Jofra Archer, Olly Stones, and Stuart Broad.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here