CPL T20: Pollard chosen over Bravo for Trinbago Knight Riders captaincy


Kieron Pollard will continue to lead the captaincy of Trinbago Knight Riders in CPL 2020. In the 6th edition of CPL T20 2019 Pollard had replaced Dwayne Bravo as captain after he was ruled out of the tournament.

The reason of change of hands was that Bravo had to skip the entire CPL 2019 because of an injury. But the Trinidad all-rounder is too happy that his “close friend” Pollard is leading the team and is eager to turn out for the team.

“We are happy that Kieron who is the West Indies captain is our leader at TKR,” Venky Mysore, the CEO of the team, was quoted as saying by Trinidad & Tobago Guardian.

“The champion DJ Bravo has been coming to me year after year and asking me to give someone else the captaincy because he wants to just concentrate on playing and enjoying the game. I always told him not until I am ready and that time has come and he is very happy to play under Pollard,” said Mysore.

Mysore said Bravo wanted to play just as one of the players and concentrate on his game and was happy to play under Pollard.

“They are great friends and they will both come together to give us the best chance at the CPL this year,” Mysore said. “Bravo said he has played under Pollard before and this will be the best thing at this time for all parties. Pollard was kind enough to accept the position to lead the team at the tournament. He said if we wanted him to do it, he will and we said that we will be delighted to have him as captain again,” he added.

The 2020 edition of the CPL T20 will take place in Trinidad & Tobago from August 18 to September 10.The matches will be played under the COVID-19 guidelines.

Trinbago Knight Riders CPL T20 Squad: Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Sunil Narine, Colin Munro, Fawad Ahmed, Darren Bravo, Khary Pierre, Tim Seifert, Sikandar Raza, Anderson Phillip, Pravin Tambe, Jayden Seales, Amir Jangoo, Tion Webster, Akeal Hosein, Muhammad Ali Khan.Stay tuned to cricdaddy.com for latest match updates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here