CPL 2020: Match 8: Guyana Amazon Warriors v Jamaica Tallawahs – Match Prediction, Teams Comparison, Pitch Condition


CPL 2020 Match 8, Cricdaddy Match Live Updates: The 8th match of the CPL 2020 will be played between Guyana Amazon Warriors and Jamaica Tallawahs on 22 August, Saturday at Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba, Trinidad. This will be the second game of the day and both Warriors and Tallawahs would have got enough break to get their rhythm back. Since the Cricdaddy CPL 2020 Tournament has just begun and the places of the team in the points table are only temporary, yet the teams would try their best to snatch some points in the early stage of the tournament to rest on it later. Check out Today’s Match Prediction here.

Match Details
Date: 22th August (Saturday)
Venue: Brian Lara Cricket Stadium, Tarouba, Trinidad

Pitch condition: Since all the games are played on the same ground, the pitch is expected to perform slower after every passing game. With rain predictions over the entire tournament, dew will be another factor that can favor the batting side. Any team winning the toss would like to put runs on the board first, as it would become easier to defend a total in the later innings. The side with better spinners would definitely be the stronger side. Fans can expect a tight, low scoring match on the weekend.

Teams Comparison:
Guyana Amazon Warriors: The Warriors may not be playing at their home but the conditions are well suited for them at Tarouba. They are the youngest team of the tournament. Their strength lies in their spin attack with Imran Tahir, Chris Green, and Chandrapaul Hemraj on their side. The three might play all the games in the CPL 2020. With Keemo Paul as a seam-bowling all-rounder and Romario Shepherd and Naveen-ul-Haq on their side, the Warriors have six full-fledged bowling options.
For batting, Ross Taylor will be backed with Brandon King, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran and Sherfane Rutherford. The batting side of Warriors is competent enough to overpower any spin attack.
Expected Playing XI: Ross Taylor, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Sherfane Rutherford, Imran Tahir, Keemo Paul, Christopher Green, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Naveen-ul-Haq, Romario Shepherd.

Jamaica Tallawahs: With firepower like Chris Gayle and Andre Russell on their side, the Tallawahs finished last in the previous tournament. With such poor performance in the last tournament, they can only do better than that. Tallawahs had lost 8 out of the 10 matches they played and every other team had crushed their bowling side completely. Keeping that in mind, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Sandeep Lamichhanne have been added to the squad this year to strengthen their spin attack. Frontline pacers Oshane Thomas and Fidel Edwards will be assisted by the all-rounders Andre Russell and Carlos Braithwaite to complete the bowling attack.
Russell’s fitness can still be a matter of concern for the team. He had missed half of the matches last year, because of fitness issues. Apart from him, Glenn Phillips, Chadwick Walton, and Asif Ali will be in the middle order and Braithwaite will take the responsibility to finish the innings in style. The team looks balanced with their line-up, but it will be up to the performance to decide the winner of the game.
Expected Playing XI: Andre Russell, CAK Walton, GD Phillips, Rovman Powell, Asif Ali, Nicholas Kirton, Carlos Brathwaite, Sandeep Lamichhane, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Oshane Thomas, Veerasammy Permaul.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here